top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChip Reviewer

REVIEW: 🇺🇸Trader Joe’s Ridge Cut Potato Chips Seasoned with Horseradish and Chives

Blehh who likes softer #potatochips with a chew? I guess they could feel more “gourmet” since it’s more similar to a potato in its natural state, but then what’s the point of a deep fry? Deep fried should result in a crunchy crisp, especially for a thin thinly sliced potato. These are quite soft and I did not enjoy them at all. I had a few and thought they were ok, but after that I was really questioning why I kept eating. Then after about 10 chips, I put the bag down and moved on to another bag of #chips. The crunch is barely there, and the thicker crinkle cut is heavy handed. The flavor is light, but off - the horseradish was the primary flavor, clashed a bit with the natural potato flavor and oil, chive flavor was undetectable, and it was undersalted. So all you got was a horseradishy soft chip. I’d skip these and go for another Trader Joe’s chip offering. Although it’s my humble chip opinion that TJs kind of sucks at chips in general…my favorite chips they have are plain tortilla chips, the rounds and the white restaurant style. - 📍@traderjoes, Hollywood

So what’s going on with this chip? Here are its highly scientific stats: Saltiness: LOW-MEDIUM Flavor level: LOW-MEDIUM Thickness: MEDIUM, MEDIUM-LARGE RIDGES

Opinion ratings (1-10): Crunch: 3.0 Texture: 6.0 Flavor: 4.8

Overall: 4.1


501 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

REVIEW: 🇺🇸Trader Joe’s Veggie Chips

Weird how ‘salt’ is listed as an ingredient for these, because they were not salty at. All. Which is a shame, because these are structured quite well - good airy crunch on a consistent smooth texture

bottom of page